Philippines’ 4th Trade Policy Review in Geneva

On March 2012, the World Trade Organization (WTO) convened the Philippines’ 4th Trade Policy Review in Geneva, Switzerland. The Philippine delegation was led by Undersecretary Adrian Cristobal Jr. WTO Members commended the Philippines for its positive economic performance over the period under review (2006-2012) based on a relatively open trade regime and helped by high remittances inflows and fiscal stimulus in response to the global economic crisis. It was anticipated that due to the steps undertaken to facilitate trade including by introducing automated customs procedures, simplifying its tariff and by reducing its simple average MFN applied rate, the Philippines is well poised to improve its trade and investment goals.


(from left to right) Mr. Martin Glass, Permanent Representative of Hong Kong China to the WTO; Hon . Adrian S. Cristobal Jr., Undersecretary, Department of Trade and Industry; Ambassador Eduardo Muñoz Gómez, Permanent Representative of Colombia to the WTO; Mr. Jose Victor Chan-Gonzaga, Chargé d’Affaires of the Philippine Mission to the WTO; Mr. Richard Eglin and Ms. Katie Waters, WTO Secretariat.

2 The Philippines 4th Trade Policy Review Delegation

(Seating from left to right) Hon. Segfredo R. Serrano, Mr. Joseph Gerard B. Angeles, Hon. Edgardo B. Abon, Hon. Margarita R. Songco, Hon. Adrian S. Cristobal Jr. (Head of Delegation), Mr. Jose Victor Chan-Gonzaga, Hon. Teresita R. Manzala, Mr. Romulo Manlapig, Mr. Ryan Francis Gener; (Standing from left to right) Ms. May Nina Celynne Layug, Ms. Maria Albarece, Atty. Luis Adviento, Ms. Irene Salonga-de Roma, Mr. Rolando Canizal, Mr. Thomas Benjamin Marcelo, Mr. Angelo Salvador M. Benedictos, Ms. Ma. Corazon Halili-Dichosa, Ms. Norma Arpafo, Ms. Lolibeth Medrano, Atty. Adonis Sulit, Ms. Marilou P. Mendoza, Atty. Jemina Sy-Flores, Mr. Leodegario Alabarca Jr., Ms. Lourdes Berrig (